Wednesday, March 30, 2011

COMMUNITY SERVICE: spring break service opportunities

Looking to give back to the community? Need some extra hours of community service? Check out the April Adopt-A-Park volunteer opportunities for projects that can be done individually, with your family, or with your friends: 

April 2nd, 8-11 a.m., Weed Warriors at Aliso & Wood Canyon Park. Contact Doug Condon at doug.condon@ocparks.com or Portia Arutunian at portia.arutunian@ocparks.com to register. Aliso & Woods Canton Park invites you to join us as a "Weed Warrior." Weeds can alter habitats and have negative effects on wildlife. We are looking for volunteers to assist with removal of non-native plants on site. Volunteers will also assist with habitat restoration. Training and tools provided. Please wear clothes that can get dirty, long pants, close-toed shoes and layers for changing weather.

April 9th, 8-10 a.m., Mile Square Nature Crew at Mason Regional Park. Contact Park Ranger Joshua Goldsmith at joshua.goldsmith@ocparks.com to register. Join one time and general volunteers to assist with exotic plant removal, planting and other restoration projects.


April 9th, 8:30-11 a.m., 2nd Saturday Trail Work Day at Irvine Regional Park. Contact Maureen Beckman at maureen.beckman@ocparks.com or Cathi Schrader at cathi.schrader@ocparks.com to register. Irvine Regional Park is looking for 10 volunteers to assist with trail maintenance in various areas in the park for a monthly trail work day. Come join volunteers and staff to help maintain our trails for all to enjoy. Please come prepared with boots, water, sunscreen, hat, and gloves. Tools and gloves will be provided but volunteers are welcome to bring their own. Volunteers must be 15 years old and older.

April 9th, 9 a.m.-12 p.m., Trail Maintenance at Limestone Whiting. We are looking for a max. of 40 volunteers to assist with light to moderate trail maintenance on site. Volunteers would assist with planting native plants and seeds in the ground for habitat enhancement. Please wear sturdy closed-toed shoes, a hat, pants, sunscreen, gloves and water. Contact Everardo Mena at everardo.mena@ocparks.com to participate in this event.

April 10th, 8 a.m.-12 p.m., Weed Warriors at Craig Regional Park. Confirm attendance by emailing Adam Shuck at adam.shuck@ocparks.com. Craig Regional Park invites you to join us as a "Weed Warrior." Weeds can alter habitats and have negative effects on wildlife. We are looking for volunteers to assist with removal of non-native plants on site. Training and tools provided. Please wear clothes that can get dirty, long pants, close-toed shoes and layers for changing weather.

April 10th, 9 a.m.-12 p.m., 2nd Sundays at Upper Newport Bay. Please call 949.923.2275 or e-mail: unbic@ocparks.com. Volunteers would assist with planting native plants and seeds in the ground for habitat enhancement. Trash pick-up and trail work events would also occur periodically. Tools will be provided. Volunteers are more than welcome to bring their own labeled tools.

April 10th, 9 a.m.-12 p.m., Trail Maintenance at O’Neill Regional Park. Contact Lorrie Zuczek at lorrie.zuczek@ocparks.com to register. O'Neill Regional Park is looking for volunteers to assist with light to moderate trail maintenance on site. Volunteers must be 16 years old and over. Please wear sturdy closed-toed shoes, a hat, pants, sunscreen, gloves and water. Tools will be provided. Participants may bring their own labeled tools. Volunteers must check in with the Park Attendant. The Park Attendant will direct volunteers to the meeting area.

April 16th, 7 a.m.-4 p.m., Adventure Day at Caspers Wilderness Park. Open to one-time and general volunteers. Looking for 44 volunteers to assist with set up, staffing the nature center, directing event traffic, distributing agenda, maps and visitor information to the public and tear down. Shifts are 7 a.m.-12 p.m. and 11 a.m.-4 p.m. Please wear closed toe shoes, a hat, and sunscreen; bring water. Contact Park Ranger Kevin Estrada at kevin.estrada@ocparks.com or at (949) 923-2208. 

April 16th, 8-11:30 a.m., “Keep it Wild” Stewardship Days at Aliso and Woods Park. Contact Portia Arutunian at portia.arutunian@ocparks.com to confirm attendance. Keep It Wild Volunteer Days take place every 3rd Saturday. Help Laguna Canyon Foundation and Adopt-A-Park with exotic plant removal and other restoration projects at Aliso and Woods Park.

April 16th, 8-11:30 a.m., “Keep it Wild” Stewardship Days at Laguna Coast Wilderness Park. Contact Laura Cohen at laura.cohen@ocparks.com to confirm attendance. Keep It Wild Volunteer Days take place every 3rd Saturday. Help Laguna Canyon Foundation and Adopt-A-Park with exotic plant removal and other restoration projects at Laguna Coast Wilderness Park. 

April 16th, 9 a.m.-12 p.m., Salt Creek Beach Clean Up. Contact Janet Tott at janet.tott@ocparks.com to confirm attendance. Open to both one time and general volunteers to help clean Salt Creek. Please wear closed toe shoes and sunscreen.

April 16th, 9-11 a.m., Habitat Restoration at Laguna Niguel Regional Park. Contact Diane Wollenberg at diane.wollenberg@ocparks.com to register. Plant native shrubs, weed out the invasive plants, and pick up trash in an effort to beautify our County parks! Be prepared to learn a variety of skills, such as basic ecological principles and plant identification!

April 17th, 8:30-11:30 a.m., Habitat Restoration Days at Peters Canyon. Contact Park Ranger Raul Herrera at raul.herrera@ocparks.com to register. Join One Time and General Volunteers on the 3rd Saturday of each month to assist with exotic plant removal, planting and other restoration projects. 

April 19th, 10 a.m.-3 p.m., Habitat Restoration Days at Mason Regional Park. Contact Park Ranger Phil Martinez at phil.martinez@ocparks.com to register. Join one time and general volunteers on Tuesdays, Wednesdays, and Thursdays to assist with exotic plant removal, planting and other restoration projects. 

April 20th, 9-11 a.m., Stewardship Day at Upper Newport Bay. Contact Matt Yurko at myurko@coastal.ca.gov to register. Join a dedicated group of volunteers who tend to the cultivation of native plants for our restoration activities. Tasks on these days vary from collecting seeds to monitoring and maintaining previously planted sites. These events take place at various sites throughout the Upper Newport Bay. All ages are welcome (under 15 must be accompanied by adult).

April 20th, 10 a.m.-3 p.m., Habitat Restoration Days at Mason Regional Park. Contact Park Ranger Phil Martinez at phil.martinez@ocparks.com to register. Join one time and general volunteers on Tuesdays, Wednesdays, and Thursdays to assist with exotic plant removal, planting and other restoration projects. 

April 21st, 10 a.m.-3 p.m., Habitat Restoration Days at Mason Regional Park. Contact Park Ranger Phil Martinez at phil.martinez@ocparks.com to register. Join one time and general volunteers on Tuesdays, Wednesdays, and Thursdays to assist with exotic plant removal, planting and other restoration projects. 

April 23rd, 9 a.m.-12 p.m., ROOTS Day at Upper Newport Bay. Contact Matt Yurko at myurko@coastal.ca.gov to confirm attendance. Join a large group of volunteers to remove invasive plants, install native plants, learn about the history of the Upper Newport Bay, and, of course, have fun.

April 30th, 9 a.m.-1 p.m., Weed Warriors at Capers Wilderness Park. Confirm attendance by emailing Jacky Velasquez at jacky.velasquez@ocparks.com. Caspers Wilderness Park invites you to join us as a "Weed Warrior". Weeds can alter habitats and have negative effects on wildlife. We are looking for volunteers to assist with removal of non-native plants on site. Training and tools provided. Please wear clothes that can get dirty, long pants, close-toed shoes and layers for changing weather.

- Contributed by Mrs. Anna Kunkle, Prep Community Service Coordinator

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.